Call for Student Session Papers

Call for Papers - Extended Deadlines

The Student Session (ST) of the 35th European Summer School in Logic, Language, and Information (ESSLLI) will take place at ESSLLI 2024, on 29 July - 9 August 2024 at Leuven, Belgium. We invite submissions of original, unpublished work from students in any area at the intersection of Logic & Language, Language & Computation, or Logic & Computation in the form of long or short papers. Submissions will be reviewed by several experts in the field. Accepted long papers will be presented as talks, while short papers will be presented as posters. This is an excellent opportunity to receive valuable feedback from expert readers and to present your work to a diverse audience. Short papers are especially suited for smaller or in-progress research works.

Submission Policies

All authors must be students, i.e., authors should not have received their PhD degree before August 2024. Authors can submit at most one single-author work and can be involved, as author or co-author, in at most two submissions. Papers must be submitted via Easychair at (make sure to choose the Student Session track).  Authors cannot submit the same abstract to the ST and another workshop hosted by ESSLLI 2024. Submissions should be no longer than 8 pages for an oral presentation and 4 pages for a poster presentation (including examples, figures, references, appendixes, etc.). Submissions must be in PDF format. We strongly recommend using the LNCS Springer class files for LaTeX2e, since accepted papers will have to be written in this format for the proceedings. If you do not use this template, make sure that your submission meets the following criteria: DINA4 (21 cm x 29.7 cm), 4.5 cm top margin, 4 cm right margin, 6.5 cm bottom margin, 5 cm left margin, 10pt font. The review process will be single-blind. All submissions not satisfying these rules will be desk rejected.

Publication policies

Accepted papers must be written in LaTeX in standard LNCS format (10 pts), using the Springer class files for LaTeX2e. Authors of accepted papers are expected to improve their papers according to the reviewers’ comments and suggestions. To do so, they are granted 2 more pages, i.e., the published version may be up to 10 pages long (including examples, figures, references, appendixes, etc.). Moreover, accepted papers must be presented during ESSLLI 2024 ST by the author or one of the co-authors. The presenting author/co-author must be registered to ESSLLI 2024.


For both long and short papers, the best contributions (submission plus presentation) will receive an award. Springer generously supports the ESSLLI Student Session by offering prizes for a total of 600€ in Springer books. The best poster and the best talk will each be awarded Springer book vouchers of 300€ each. The prizes are awarded based on the reviews of the submission as well as the oral/poster presentation. The ideas presented should be novel and promising. The presentation at ESSLLI should be adapted to the wide variety of backgrounds that ESSLLI participants come from: everybody should be able to learn/understand something new.


Participation, including presentation, to the ST requires an ESSLLI 2024 registration.

Important Dates - Extended

Paper submission: March 1, 2024 March 15, 2024
Notification of acceptance: May 1, 2024 May 10, 2024
Camera-ready submission: June 1, 2024 June 7, 2024
Event: July 29 - August 9, 2024
Submission link: (make sure to choose the Student Session track).


Student Session Chairs:

Francesco Di Cosmo, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy -
John Lindqvist, University of Bergen, Norway -

Student Session Committee

Session chairs

Francesco Di Cosmo (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano)
John Lindqvist (University of Bergen)

Language and Computation (LaCo)

Jia Ren (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
Jiaxing Yu (Rutgers University)
Tran Thi Hong Hanh (Jozef Stefan Institute and University of La Rochelle)

Language and Logic (LaLo)

Emil Eva Rosina (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Tijana Šuković (University of Belgrade)
Valeria Gradimondo (University Paris Cité)

Logic and Computation (LoCo)

Alex De Klerck (KU Leuven)
Sreehari Kalloormana (City University of New York)
Tephilla Prince (Indian Institute of Technology Dharwad)

European Summer School in Logic, Language and Information